top of page
  • Writer's

Novak Djokovic, Iga Swiatek and Coco Gauff nominated at the 25th Laureus World Sports Awards : All you need to know

Updated: Apr 10

Poster for the Laureus World Sports Awards showing the 6 nominees for the sportsman of the year award

The Laureus World Sports Awards

The Laureus World Sports Awards is an an annual award ceremony honouring individuals and teams from the world of sports along with sporting achievements throughout the year. The first ceremony was held on May 25th 2000 in Monte Carlo, at which South African president Nelson Mandela gave the keynote speech.

The name of the Laureus Fondation, which organizes the gala every year, comes from the word Laurel which is a well-known symbol in the world of sports all the way to the Olympics. Every year, they recognize sporting achievements in a wide range of categories :

  • Sportsman of the year

  • Sportswoman of the year

  • Team of the year

  • Comeback of the year

  • Breakthrough of the year

  • Action sportsperson of the year

  • Sportsperson of the year with a disability

The winners are chosen through a secret vote held by the Laureus Sport Academy, the academy is composed of retired athletes and led by former rugby player Sean Fitzpatrick.

Laureus Sportsman of the Year

Novak Djokovic, who won the award 4 times already (2012-2015-2016-2019), had a record-breaking season last year. In addition to winning the Tour Player's Championship, he won 3 Grand Slams and made the final of Wimbledon, surpassing Rafael Nadal for the most Grand Slams in history.

This category has historically been dominated by tennis players, since its creation only 4 editions did not have a tennis player in its nominees and only 1 did not have any since the rise of the BIG 3. Without surprise, Roger Federer holds the record for the most awards with 5.

For the 2024 edition, Novak Djokovic will be in excellent company :

  • Novak Djokovic - Tennis

  • Noah Lyles - Athletics

  • Mondo Duplantis - Athletics

  • Max Verstappen - Formula 1

  • Erling Haaland - Soccer / European Football

  • Lionel Messi - Soccer / European Football

Laureus Sportswoman of the Year

Without surprise, Iga Swiatek is also nominated in the Laureus World Sports Awards. Swiatek, who spent the year at number 1 in the world, finished the season with an impressive 68-11 (86.1%) record and 5 titles, including the prestigious French Open. It will be her second year in a row where she is nominated in the category that saw an impressive total of 17 different tennis players in its nominees, including tennis legends such as the Williams sisters, Justine Henin, Ashley Barty, Kim Clijsters and Lindsay Davenport.

Contrary to Sportsman of the Year, this category has been dominated by Olympic sports such as athletics and gymnastics, Simone Biles holding the record with 5 trophies. Iga Swiatek will also be in good company :

  • Iga Swiatek - Tennis

  • Aitana Bonmati - Soccer / European Football

  • Shericka Jackson - Athletics

  • Faith Kipyegon - Athletics

  • Sha'Carri Richardson - Athletics

  • Mikaela Shiffrin - Alpine Skiing

Laureus Breakthrough of the Year

This award is self-explanatory, it was notably given to Emma Raducanu in 2022 after her U.S. Open title and to Carlos Alcaraz last year. This year, Coco Gauff is nominated and will try to improve the record held by tennis players with a 9th award. In addition to finishing number 1 in the world in doubles in 2023 with her partner Jessica Pegula, Coco Gauff won her first WTA 1000 title in Cincinnati followed by the first Grand Slam of her career in Flushing Meadows at the U.S. Open.

In order to win this award, she will have to beat 5 other athletes that had tremendous breakthroughs in 2023 :

  • Coco Gauff - Tennis

  • Jude Bellingham - Soccer / European Football

  • Linda Caceido - Soccer / European Football

  • Salma Paralluelo - Soccer / European Football

  • Qin Hauyang - Swimming

  • Josh Kerr - Athletics

The 25th Laureus World Sports Awards

The 25th Laureus World Sports Awards will be hosted at the prestigious Palacio de Cibeles in Madrid. The "Oscars of sports" will be awarded during the evening of April 22nd, 2024. We wish best of luck to all the athletes, but especially to Novak Djokovic, Iga Swiatek and Coco Gauff.


Stay tuned, Stay inspired, Stay informed.

Tennis Clubhouse is more than just a source of tennis news; it's a platform where the love of tennis unites us all and allows us to take full advantage of what the sport has to offer. Together, let's celebrate every moment on and off the court!

Follow us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter and join our newsletter and be part of the  family!

Share this post



bottom of page